Indiscretion

Indiscretion

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
When your father is a man of expensive tastes and schemes but very little money, you soon learn to make do. So when Captain Fortune, a well-meaning but profligate ex-soldier in Regency England, tells his daughter Caroline that they are ruined, she automatically starts seeking employment as a governess. Her father, however, has far grander designs for Miss Fortune.
Caro is to become the companion of Mrs. Catling, the rich, fierce widow of her father's old colonel. As Mrs. Catling amuses herself by tormenting her relatives and servants, Caro resolves to make the best of the situation, and soon her beauty and intelligence attract the attentions of male admirers.
Surrounded by people with an alarming readiness to reveal each other's confidences, Caroline is exasperated to find herself implicated in their indiscretions. But will Miss Fortune be able to avoid losing her reputation without losing her head? And will she find at least one good man amongst the genteel set who will take her side, and, indeed, her fancy? "
Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Press, 2006.
ISBN: 9780312362065
0312362064
Characteristics: 378 p. ;,22 cm.

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
thebritlass
Dec 05, 2016

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen (felt like something she would have written) - a novel that is absorbing and entertaining while reflecting the lifestyles of the gentry of Regency England.

r
robandbarbw
Sep 18, 2012

I own this book and will enjoy re-reading it from time to time. It's reminiscent of a Jane Austen novel. Enjoyable.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top