Where the Crawdads Sing

Where the Crawdads Sing

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
124
3
2
THE REESE WITHERSPOON X HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB PICK and NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!" --Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."-- The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."-- Bustle

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.
Publisher: New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2018.
ISBN: 9780735219090
0735219095
Characteristics: 370 pages :,map ;,24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
marshbook
Oct 16, 2019

The author paints a wonderful story. You can imagine where she lives and how she survives. The mystery keeps you guessing throughout the book. Wonderfully believable characters. I cried towards the end of the book.

m
MB85CAL
Oct 13, 2019

Beautifully written. Hard to get into . . . but worth the patience to stay the course. Like Carson McCullers and WilliamFaulkner, Delia Owens weaves a story of the South with characters with whom one finds common ground and empathy.

d
dagny49
Oct 02, 2019

Recommended by Karen

g
good_stuff_4U
Sep 26, 2019

The descriptive use of the natural environment has been lacking in fiction. Delia Owens nails the integration of the feelings and instincts that nature brings to our world. Love how she takes a very dysfunctional existence and shows it's many outcomes.

s
superreader64
Sep 20, 2019

I didn't like this book. I didn't finish reading it. I would not recommend this book to anyone. Not my cup of tea.

m
mls2
Sep 19, 2019

I SO LOVED this book! I was right there with Kya from the get go! What a well written first fiction novel-so descriptive. One of the best reads we have had in our book club & a great discussion. Kudos Delia Owens👏👏!

a
allysunsun24
Sep 19, 2019

This was such a wonderful and heart wrenching read! Marsh Girl is going to be one of those characters that sticks with me for awhile!

a
Aimee M Trudel
Sep 17, 2019

Jan Reynolds' recommendation - dotted 'good'

l
lukasevansherman
Sep 14, 2019

Maybe read this article before reading the book:
slate.com/culture/2019/07/delia-owens-crawdads-murder-africa.html
Every book club's favorite book of 2019 is the debut novel by Delia Owens, an elderly white woman who worked in Africa and now lives in Idaho. I'm not sure why she thought she could write a book, much less one about a murder set in Louisiana in the 60s and 70s. Here's a sentence to give you a sample of her style: "Tutored by millions of minutes alone, Kya thought she knew lonely." I did not like this book, its swampy atmosphere was redolent of far better writers like James Lee Burke, while its clunky murder plot would make John Grisham blush. I bet they'll make a movie. I'd cast Kristen Stewart as Kya and Morgan Freeman as the judge.
"Way out wonder, where the crawdads sing." Note: crawdads do not actually sing.

k
kellydelancy
Sep 14, 2019

Book Club Selection

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
c
cknightkc
Jun 24, 2019

“She knew the years of isolation had altered her behavior until she was different from others, but it wasn't her fault she'd been alone. Most of what she knew, she'd learned from the wild. Nature had nurtured, tutored, and protected her when no one else would.”

c
cknightkc
Jun 24, 2019

“I wasn't aware that words could hold so much. I didn't know a sentence could be so full.”

c
cknightkc
Jun 24, 2019

“Sometimes she heard night-sounds she didn’t know or jumped from lightning too close, but whenever she stumbled, it was the land who caught her. Until at last, at some unclaimed moment, the heart-pain seeped away like water into sand. Still there, but deep. Kya laid her hand upon the breathing, wet earth, and the marsh became her mother.”

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
a
AliceInWonderbread
Sep 19, 2019

AliceInWonderbread thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

n
nherrera61
Aug 07, 2019

nherrera61 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top